State pulling workers from unemployment career centers across Kentucky

By  | 

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WKYT) - The Education and Workforce Development Cabinet will pull employees out of 31 unemployment centers in an effort to save money.

The 31 affected unemployment offices won't close entirely, but the focus of the work will shift to 12 hubs. The cabinet will base full-time Office of Employment and Training (OET) staff in area centers or hubs located in 12 communities: Bowling Green, Covington, Elizabethtown, Hazard, Hopkinsville, Lexington, Louisville, Morehead, Owensboro, Paducah, Prestonsburg and Somerset.

The change means 95 employees will be transferred to other positions within the cabinet or elsewhere in state government.

In a statement, Workforce Development Secretary Hal Heiner said, "This reorganization is necessary to create a firm foundation for the transformation of Kentucky’s workforce system. It will align OET’s federal funding with its services and begin to develop a hub and satellite office system across the Commonwealth that will be consistent with recent federal legislation."

The centers that will no longer have full-time staffing are:

  • Ashland

  • Bardstown

  • Campbellsville

  • Carrollton

  • Central City

  • Columbia

  • Corbin

  • Danville

  • Florence

  • Frankfort

  • Georgetown

  • Glasgow

  • Harlan

  • Henderson

  • Lebanon

  • Leitchfield

  • Liberty

  • Louisville (Preston Highway)

  • Madisonville (2 locations)

  • Mayfield

  • Maysville

  • Middlesboro

  • Murray

  • Pikeville

  • Richmond

  • Russell Springs

  • Shelbyville

  • Shepherdsville

  • Springfield

  • Winchester

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus