Good Question: Why is the NCAA Tournament on several different networks?

It's what college basketball fans look forward to every year.

But this year, you'll notice some changes in where you can watch the games for the NCAA Tournament.

This time each year, March Madness takes over many communities.

While the excitement and anticipation of the tournament is the same, where and when you'll watch your favorite team is quite different.

CBS no longer has the exclusive rights to the NCAA Tournament.

For the first time in more than 7 decades, every game will have its own national window.

Every game will be shown on one of four networks: CBS, TBS, TNT, and TruTV.

The changes are part of a joint deal between CBS and Turner Networks.

The two banded together to win the bidding war for tournament rights.

ESPN and others were willing to pay big bucks to get the games.

Together, CBS and Turner are putting up more than $10 billion over 14 years to secure tournament rights.

Most WKYT viewers, about 80 percent, have cable. So finding any game would be just a matter of consulting the program guide.

But for others, it gets a little trickier.

Some cable subscribers don't have TruTV on their package deals.

About 5 percent of viewers don't have cable at all.

On Thursday, you will see the Cats play on WKYT. Kentucky will take on Princeton at 2:45 p.m.

The Morehead State-Louisville game will air Thursday at 1:40 on TBS.

Times and stations for games beyond the second round won't be announced until the previous round is complete.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 118058334 -
Gray Television, Inc.