Its official no texting and driving while on Kentucky roadways.
With a pen stroke Thursday, Kentucky became the 22nd state to ban texting behind the wheel.
Good Question: What does the texting ban really mean?
In March police in Mercer County say a driver trying to plug in an electronic device crashed into a tractor.
Two people were taken to the hospital as a result of that crash.
Its accidents like that the Governor hopes the new texting law will prevent.
In fact, statistics show last year there were nearly 60 thousand crashes the state as a result of driver distraction.
"More than 200 people died in those crashes, that represents 1/4th of all fatalities. These are preventable tragedies and today we are doing something about it." said Governor Steve Beshear.
The new law penned today bans texting while driving for all Kentuckians.
It also bans people under 18 from using a cell phone at all while behind the wheel, and as for your GPS, you can use it, you just can't enter data on it while driving.
So we know what we can't do while driving, but what's the penalty?
Warnings will be issued until January 1st, after that anyone caught texting will be fined $25 for the first offense, its $50 after that.
In 2009 the Governor issued an executive order banning texting messaging by state employees in state vehicles.