WKYT receives four first place awards in KAPB competition

LOUISVILLE (WKYT) - WKYT was honored with several awards tonight in the annual Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters competition.

WKYT chief meteorologist Chris Bailey received first place for best TV weather anchor in the state.

Phil Pendleton received first place for best political coverage for his stories on the 2013 Fancy Farm political picnic. WKYT political editor and anchor Bill Bryant received third place in the category.

Reporter Sean Moody and photographer John Wilson received first place honors in the best light news feature for “One More Great Trip."

John Wilson and Lee. K Howard received first place in the best sports feature category for “Kickin It 4 Kelly."

John Wilson received second place for best news videography for “Mr. Sparkle," best TV editor for his composite of work, and best feature videography category for “One More Great Trip."

Kristen Kennedy and John Wilson received second place for best public affairs for “Big Sandy Pollution."

Kristen Kennedy received second place for best TV reporter for her composite of work.

Lee K. Howard received second place and Rob Bromley received third place for best TV sportscaster.

wkyt.com received honorable mention for best TV website in the state.

The WKYT staff received honorable mention in the sports special category for “WKYT Gametime: Wildcat Warmup."

In the KAPB competition, WKYT competes with other Lexington and Louisville television stations.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus