School Year Begins In Fayette County

Wednesday is the first day of school in Fayette and other Kentucky counties.

Fayette is opening three new elementary schools including Liberty Elementary, Sandersville Elementary and William Wells Brown Elementary.

Liberty Elementary replaces J.R. Ewan.

Sandersville replaces Linlee Elementary.

William Wells Brown replaces Johnson Elementary and Russell.

All three new schools boast state of the art security, eco-friendly designs and increased safety meaures for storm protection.

Classes also resume in Jessamine, Madison and Laurel Counties.

Clark and Woodford County students go back to school Thursday.

Franklin County students don't go back until August 20.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus