Fayette County Now Under Burn Ban

Fayette County joins the ranks of counties that now have burn bans in effect.

The ban was enacted on Friday and goes into effect immediately. The ban prohibits burning until this area receives significant rainfall.

Dry conditions around the state have prompted many county leaders to issue similar bans.

Right now, the following counties are under outdoor burn bans: Anderson, Bath, Bourbon, Carter, Clark, Daviess, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Henderson, Hopkins, Jessamine, Johnson, Lawrence, Logan, McLean, Madison, Magoffin, Marshall, Martin, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Oldham, Pike, Rowan, Union and Webster.

The official start of forest fire season is October 1st, but the burn bans are now in place because parts of Kentucky are already bone dry this fall.

Right now, burn bans are not officially in place in Woodford and Franklin counties, but people who live in those counties are being urged not to burn.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus