Disaster Declarations In 33 Counties

On Thursday, President Bush declared parts of Kentucky a disaster area after strong winds whipped parts across the state last month.

The remnants of Hurricane Ike knocked out power to hundreds of thousands of customers.

33 Kentucky Counties are now federal disaster areas. Most of those are in northern and western Kentucky and in counties near Louisville.

The declaration means those counties will be eligible for federal funds to help with cleanup and recovery efforts.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus