KPA Elects new Officers; Awards Announced

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - Edmund Shelby, general manager of the Beattyville Enterprise, has been elected president of the Kentucky Press Association, which held its annual convention this week in Louisville.

He succeeds Taylor Hayes, publisher of the Kentucky New Era in Hopkinsville, who was 2008 president of the statewide association of newspapers.

Chip Hutcheson, publisher of The Times Leader in Princeton, becomes president-elect; and Dennis Hetzel, general manager for the Kentucky Enquirer, was elected vice president. Jamie Sizemore, publisher of The Kentucky Standard in Bardstown, was elected treasurer for the KPA, which wrapped up its convention Friday.

Also Friday, the association announced winners in its Excellence in Kentucky Newspapers 2008 competition.

The Lexington Herald-Leader won first place for general excellence in the category for large daily newspapers, over 25,000 circulation. The newspaper also won best editorial, best feature story, best column, best enterprise or analytical story and best newspaper Web site, among many other awards.

The Daily News of Bowling Green and the Kentucky New Era of Hopkinsville also won first place for general excellence for newspapers in their circulation categories.

Among the other awards for the Daily News were best general news story, best sports column, best spot news picture, best picture essay and best sports picture.

The Hopkinsville paper won best feature story, best sports column, best investigative story or series and best feature picture, among several more top awards.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus