Ky. storm recovery centers closing or changing

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Four disaster recovery centers in Kentucky will close or transition to other functions next weekend.

The Kentucky Emergency Management Agency opened the temporary recovery centers on June 3 to assist residents after severe storms and flooding in May.

The U.S. Small Business Administration will take over the centers in Floyd, Pike and Owsley counties. A center in Magoffin County will close on June 27. Another center in Pike County and one in Breathitt County will remain open until further notice.

Kentucky Emergency Management Agency Director Brig. Gen. John W. Heltzel said more than 2,300 people have visited the centers, but the number is declining.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus