Some Phone Customers May Change Area Codes

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Telephone customers in far western Kentucky will get a new area code, the Public Service Commission announced on Thursday.

Telephone customers in communities from Hopkinsville to Paducah will be assigned a new area code.

Cities remaining in the 270 area code include Bowling Green, Columbia, Glasgow, Elizabethtown and Owensboro.

The decision on where to keep the 270 area code was made "on the basis of greatest population density and areas of fastest growth," the agency said.

Mandatory use of the new area code will take effect on October 1, 2008. A transition period during which either the new area code or area code 270 may be used in the affected area will begin by April 1, 2008.

The number of the new area code hasn't yet been determined.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus