WKYT | Lexington, Kentucky | News, Weather, Sports

DUI Offenders in Kentucky

In the commonwealth, a persons first three DUI convictions are actually considered misdemeanors.

We spoke with Representative Kathy Stein, chair of the house judiciary committee, to explain the penalties for multiple convictions.

The first offense involves either a fine between two and five hundred dollars or up to 30 days in jail. Your license could be suspended up to 120 days.

If someone gets multiple convictions within 5 years, there's additional penalties.

When someone gets a fourth DUI within 5 years, it's considered a class D felony and can carry a fine between one and ten thousand dollars and one to five years in jail.

Stein feels Kentucky does a very good job enforcing the laws and that judges and prosecutors do good job not letting people off the hook.

Mothers Against Drunk Driving says Kentucky is considered one of the toughest in enforcement of the DUI laws. But there are too many loopholes, because as it stands now if your DUI conviction is over 5 years old, it's essentially wiped out and you start over. MADD would like to that be 10 years instead.

In 2001, Mothers Against Drunk Driving graded each state for its overall DUI laws and fatality rates. Kentucky received a C.

If you'd like to find out more on Kentucky's DUI offenders click on www.1800duilaws.com.


WKYT

2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8420532 - wkyt.com/a?a=8420532