John Wall named SEC Player of the Year

The SEC has unveiled its awards for the 2009-2010 season, and several UK players were honored.

Freshman phenom John Wall received top billing, winning SEC Player of the Year. He's only the second freshman to be named Player of the Year, following LSU's Chris Jackson in 1989.

DeMarcus Cousins was named the SEC Freshman of the Year.

Wall, Cousins, and Patrick Patterson were named to the First Team All-SEC. Georgia's Trey Thompkins, Mississippi State's Jarvis Varnado, South Carolina's Devan Downey, Tennessee's Wayne Chism, and Vanderbilt's Jermaine Beal also were named to the first team.

Wall was a unanimous selection on the SEC's first team.

Patterson was included on the SEC's All-Defensive Team. Wall, Cousins, and Eric Bledsoe made the SEC's All-Freshman team.

All three were unanimous selections to the freshman team.

Vanderbilt's Kevin Stallings was named SEC Coach of the Year.

The votes for the awards come from the SEC's coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus