KY Farmers Eligible For Federal Assistance

LEXINGTON, Ky. (AP) - Farmers in 17 counties are eligible for
Federal disaster assistance, including low interest emergency loans
from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Farm Service Agency
provided eligibility requirements are met.
That word was distributed Monday by FSA officials in Lexington.
It was noted that 95 Tennessee counties were declared a disaster
area due to damages and losses caused by extreme drought and high
heat that occurred from May first, 2007 to the present.
As a result of the declaration, 17 Kentucky Counties were named
as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify
for FSA EM loan assistance pursuant to the Consolidated Farm and
Rural Development Act. Those counties are: Allen, Bell, Calloway,
Christian, Clinton, Cumberland, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Logan,
McCreary, Monroe, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Wayne and Whitley.
EM loan applications for physical and production losses will be
received through March 31, 2008, and applications pending on that
date may be processed and completed. Farmers interested in applying
for assistance should contact their local FSA county office.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus