WKYT awarded three Edward R. Murrow Awards for outstanding journalism

WASHINGTON--The Radio Television Digital News Association today announced the 2010 regional winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in electronic journalism.

RTDNA judges awarded three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards to WKYT in Lexington, Kentucky. WKYT and WLKY in Louisville were the only Kentucky media organizations honored with 2010 Murrow Awards which reward the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.

WKYT won Murrow Awards in the following categories: breaking news for coverage of a massive fire involving “cash for clunkers” cars at a Lexington junkyard; continuing coverage for ongoing coverage of the arrest of former lawmaker Steve Nunn in the death of Amanda Ross; and web site for outstanding online journalism.

WKYT competed against television stations in Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina and West Virginia in the regional competition.

Overall entries and participating news organizations were both up for the 2010 Murrow Awards. For the first time, online news organizations were eligible to enter in any of the 14 categories; online news organizations were defined as organizations that should, as their principal function, disseminate news and information but are not internal parts of a radio or television station.

"I'm excited to see not only increased entries in the awards this year from our traditional television and radio competitors, but also the winning entries from new media newsrooms able to win a regional Murrow Award for the very first time," said RTDNA Chairman Stacey Woelfel.

A complete list of winners, and the accompanying audio and video, is available at RTDNA.org

Regional winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in early June. The national Edward R. Murrow Awards will be presented on October 11 at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971. Radio, television and online news managers from markets across the country judged the entries in March.

RTDNA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other digital media in more than 30 countries.