Some European flight restrictions lifted

All of the flight restrictions have been lifted in Germany

The Associated Press
Travelers wait at the closed international Airport in Duesseldorf, Germany on Friday. Most countries in northern Europe suspended their air traffic due to ash clouds from the volcanic eruption in Iceland.

**If you know of a Kentuckian stuck in Europe and trying to get back to the bluegrass please contact 27 NEWSFIRST at newsdepartment@wkyt.com

Airspace in northern and central Europe continued to reopen Wednesday, although some airports in the north had to close again due to the volcanic ash cloud. The EU transport commission says that up to 80 percent of flights expected to take place as scheduled.

Austria: Austrian airspace remains open after permission to resume takeoffs and landings took effect Monday. Some flights in and out of the country continue to be canceled or delayed.

Britain: British airspace open and all major airports open.

Croatia: Airspace and airports open.

Czech Republic: Airspace and all airports have been open since Monday.

Denmark: Airspace open until 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Thursday.

Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania: The airspace of all three Baltic countries was opened Wednesday morning. Major airports - Tallinn, Riga, Vilnius and Kaunas - are accepting incoming and outgoing flights but many flights canceled due to restrictions in other countries.

Finland: Helsinki Airport closed at 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT) after opening briefly. Other airports in southern Finland to close by 1800 GMT (2 p.m. EDT). International overflights allowed above 31,000 feet until 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Thursday.

France: All airports are open. Aviation officials say they will ensure all long-haul takeoffs and landings and 75 percent of mid-range flights.

Germany: All airspace restrictions lifted Wednesday.

Greenland: Airspace over the southern, most populous part of Greenland closed.

Hungary: Airspace has been open since early Tuesday. Traffic at Budapest's Ferihegy Airport is being restored although passengers are advised to check with airlines about flights.

Netherlands: Intercontinental flights to and from Amsterdam are flying. Flights to UK started resuming at 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT).
Flights to Scandinavia and northern Germany likely to resume later Wednesday.

Norway: All airspace open.

Poland: Airspace reopened on Wednesday.

Serbia and Montenegro: Airspace and all airports open since Sunday; 80 percent of all flights expected to run.

Slovakia: Airspace and airports have been open since Monday. But Ryanair canceled all flights to and from the capital, Bratislava,
until 1100 GMT (7 a.m. EDT) Thursday.

Spain: All airports and airspace are open.

Sweden: Stockholm's Arlanda Airport and most airspace in the north was expected to open at 1400 GMT (10 a.m. EDT). Southwestern Malmo is open. Overflights at high altitude permitted across the country.

Switzerland: Airports open. Zurich says about 185 flights will be canceled Wednesday, mostly to other European destinations. The airline Swiss says long-haul flights should be back to normal.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

WKYT

2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 91708589 - wkyt.com/a?a=91708589
Gray Television, Inc.