President Obama declares eight Kentucky counties disaster areas

President Obama Tuesday declared eight Kentucky counties disaster areas, following last week's storms and flooding.

Federal funding is now available to people living in Casey, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Rowan, and Woodford Counties.

Federal officials say the assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the storms.

Officials say federal funding is also available to local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by storms or flooding in Allen, Hart, Lewis, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, and Rockcastle counties.

FEMA is still conducting damage surveys in parts of Kentucky. More counties may soon be added to the disaster list.

For more, click on the link attached to this story.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus