More counties eligible for assistance

LEXINGTON, Ky. (AP) - Residents of nine more Kentucky counties
may qualify for individual disaster assistance, and 21 counties
have been added for all categories of public assistance under the
state's federal disaster declaration.
The counties announced Monday where individual assistance is
available are Adair, Bath, Boyd, Carter, Franklin, Greenup,
Madison, Marion and Mercer. Previously designated counties are
Casey, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Rowan and
The 21 counties added for all categories of assistance are
Adair, Barren, Bath, Boyle, Carter, Casey, Cumberland, Edmonson,
Garrard, Grayson, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Menifee,
Nelson, Simpson, Rowan, Warren, Washington and Woodford counties.
Previously designated were Allen, Hart, Lewis, Logan, Metcalfe,
Monroe and Rockcastle counties.
The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced the additions.
The declarations stem from flooding and storms since May 1.
Online: and

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)