USDA approves disaster assistance for 86 counties

There's more help on the way to victims of the May floods.

The U.S.D.A has approved Governor Steve Beshear's request for disaster assistance for farmers in 86 counties.

The disaster designation provides farm families, meeting eligibility requirements, in both primary and contiguous counties the opportunity to be considered for disaster assistance from FSA, including emergency loans and Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program.

Eligible farmers have until March 1, 2011 to apply.

The 38 primary counties included in this disaster designation are as follows:

Adair, Allen, Barren, Bath, Boyle, Breathitt, Butler, Caldwell, Casey, Christian, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Grayson, Greenup, Hopkins, Jessamine, Lewis, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Madison, McLean, Menifee, Mercer, Montgomery, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Simpson, Taylor, Trigg

48 contiguous counties are eligible for assistance as well. Those counties are as follows:

Anderson, Bourbon, Boyd, Breckinridge, Calloway, Carter, Clark, Clinton, Daviess, Elliott, Fayette, Franklin, Grant, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Jackson, Knott, Larue, Laurel, Lee, Lincoln, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McCracken, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Owen, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Todd, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wolfe, Woodford

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus