Fayette County schools dismiss early due to winter storm threat

LEXINGTON, Ky - In light of the pending winter storm, all Fayette County Public Schools dismissed one hour early. Elementary school families will be asked to contact their child’s teacher with instructions about how they want their child to go home. Given the volume of people trying to make arrangements, email may be the best method of communication. If no contact is initiated by the family, schools will make every effort to reach them. In the event that contact is not made, students will be supervised until the last child is picked up.

Students in the morning preschool session, which normally dismisses mid-morning, can either be picked up at school by their families or they will be brought home on the bus along with the other students from their elementary schools in accordance with the early dismissal schedule. There will be no afternoon preschool sessions.

School bus riders will arrive at their regular bus stops earlier in accordance with the dismissal time. Just subtract from the regularly scheduled drop-off times.

All afternoon and evening activities, including night school, are canceled.

Please help us communicate this to our community.

1:35 p.m. dismissal today: (elementaries)
Arlington, Ashland, Athens-Chilesburg, Booker T. Washington, Breckinridge, Cardinal Valley, Clays Mill, Deep Springs, Dixie, Garden Springs, Glendover, James Lane Allen, Julius Marks, Lansdowne, Liberty, Maxwell, Meadowthorpe, Millcreek, Picadome, Rosa Parks, Russell Cave, Sandersville, Southern Elementary, Squires, Stonewall, Tates Creek Elementary, Veterans Park, Wellington, William Wells Brown and Yates
2:15 p.m. dismissal: (elementaries)
Cassidy, Harrison, Mary Todd and Northern

2:15 p.m. dismissal: (high schools)
Bryan Station High, Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar and Tates Creek High

2:45 p.m. dismissal: (middle school)
SCAPA at Bluegrass

2:55 p.m. dismissal: (middle schools)
Beaumont, Bryan Station Middle, Crawford, Edythe J. Hayes, Jessie Clark, Leestown, Lexington Traditional Magnet, Morton, Southern Middle, Tates Creek Middle and Winburn

Other programs:
1:35 p.m. dismissal: Carter G. Woodson Academy and STEAM Academy
1:45 p.m. dismissal: Opportunity Middle College
2:15 p.m. dismissal: MSTC at Dunbar & Liberal Arts Academy at Henry Clay
3 p.m. dismissal: Martin Luther King Jr. Academy
3:10 p.m. dismissal: The Learning Center at Linlee and The Stables

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus