Paul, Barr, Massie among those who voted against deal

Three Kentucky lawmakers were among the House and Senate Republicans who voted against a deal to re-open the federal government and avert a default.

Senator Rand Paul, Representative Andy Barr (KY-6) and Representative Thomas Massie (KY-4) all voted against the deal brokered between US Senate Democrats and Republicans that funded the federal government, ending the shutdown, and delayed the debt ceiling limit until February.

Rep. Barr released this statement after the vote, explaining his decision to vote against it: "Unfortunately, this legislation does not accomplish what the people of the Sixth Congressional District elected me to do: reform government, reduce spending and hold Washington accountable to the American people."

Sen. Paul was one of the 18 senators who voted against the bill, in which senior Kentucky Senator Mitch McConnell played a major role in bringing to a vote. McConnell voted for the bill. In the House, the final vote was 285 Ayes to 144 Nays.

No Democrats in either the House or the Senate voted against the deal.

Kentucky GOP Representatives Hal Rogers, Ed Whitfield, and Brett Guthrie all voted for the bill, as did Democratic Representative John Yarmuth.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus