WKYT gets top honors in National Press Photographers Association awards

WKYT photographer John Wilson's "selfie" while covering the NCAA tournament

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WKYT) - WKYT scored two high honors Monday from the National Press Photographers Association at its annual awards ceremony.

WKYT was named the central region station of the year and WKYT special projects photographer John Wilson was named central region photographer of the year.

In addition to Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Tennessee, television stations in central America, South America and Africa compete in the central region.

For the central region station of the year title, WKYT finished ahead of second-place WSYX in Columbus, Ohio; third-place KCRG in Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and fourth-place WHO in Des Moines, Iowa.

In January, WKYT was honored as the Kentucky News Photographer Association station of the year.

Leading the way for WKYT's victory in the statewide competition was John Wilson who was named both news and sports photographer of year and won the Gaylert Burrow Best of Show.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus