WKYT honored with two Edward R. Murrow Awards

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WKYT) - The Radio-Television Digital News Association announced Tuesday that WKYT won two regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for outstanding journalism.

Photographer John Wilson won in the use of video category for his composite of work throughout 2013.

Wilson and WKYT weekend sports anchor Lee K. Howard won in the video sports reporting category for their story entitled "Kickin' It 4 Kelly," the heartwarming story of seven-year-old Kelly Melton's brave battle with cancer, his passion for the University of Kentucky basketball team, and the Big Blue Nation rallying behind him.

WKYT was the only television station in Kentucky to be honored with more than one award in 2014.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.

This year, RTDNA awarded 661 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories. WKYT competes against television stations in Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina and West Virginia in the regional competition.

"RTDNA is proud to be able to honor the best of local broadcast and digital journalism with these prestigious awards while honoring the legacy of Edward R. Murrow," said RTDNA Chairman Chris Carl. "I would like to personally congratulate all the regional winners and wish them luck as they move on to the national competition."

"The Murrow Awards honor journalism at its finest," added Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. "Local newsrooms serve their communities 365 days a year, and we're proud to recognize the great work they do."

RTDNA received more than 4,000 entries during the 2014 awards season, surpassing 2013 by more than 500 entries and setting an all-time record for entries in what proved to be one of the most competitive Edward R. Murrow Awards seasons in RTDNA history.

RTDNA's recognition of WKYT is the latest in a series of photography and video awards given to the station.

In March, the National Press Photographers Association named WKYT its central region station of the year and Wilson photographer of the year.

In January, WKYT was honored as the Kentucky News Photographer Association station of the year.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus