WKYT named KNPA station of the year

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WKYT) - The Kentucky News Photographers Association named WKYT its 2014 Station of the Year during its annual meeting Saturday.

Leading the way for WKYT's victory was photographer John Wilson who was named both news and sports photographer of year and won the Gaylert Burrow Best of Show award.

WKYT won first prize in nine of the 14 Categories that were judged and placed in 12 categories which was an unprecedented showing.

Stations from Cincinnati, Lexington, Louisville, and Paducah participated in 14 categories with more than 150 entries total:

1st: WKYT (Lexington) 139 points
2nd: WPSD (Paducah) 92 points
3rd: WAVE (Louisville) 77 points
4th: WLEX (Lexington) 42 points
5th: WCPO (Cincinnati) 31 points
6th: WHAS (Louisville) 8 points
7th: WDRB (Louisville) 3 points

Specific WKYT Results
Spot News 9:
1st Place : Phil Pendleton "Sheep Rescue"

Solo Video Journalist:
Honorable Mention: Sean Moody

Team Spot News:
3rd Place- "Danville Triple Murder" Ken Harvener, Joe Mondelli, Sean Moody, Victor Puente

Spot News 4:
1st Place: "Blessed" John Wilson
2nd Place: "Rat" Barton Bill
Honorable Mention: "Storm Damage" Brandon Whitworth

1st Place: "Mr Sparkle" John Wilson
2nd place: "Germs are Everywhere" Barton Bill 3rd Place: "Text Spam" Brandon Whitworth

1st Place: "One More Great Trip" John Wilson

Feature No Time Limit:
2nd Place: "Clock Man" John Wilson

Sports General:
1st Place: "East vs West Jess" John Wilson

News Feature-day turn:
1st Place: "Soldier Surprise" John Wilson

Sports Feature:
1st Place: "Kickin it 4 Kelly" John Wilson

Sports Highlights:
1st Place: John Wilson

1st Place: "A Sign of Acceptance" John Wilson

Wilson won KNPA News Photographer of the Year winning five news categories scoring 96 points which was four points more than WPSD's 2nd place station total of 92.

Wilson won KNPA Sports Photographer of the year for the third time (2009, 2011, 2013) winning 1st place in all three sports categories.

Wilson won the Gaylert Burrow Best of Show for his Sports Feature "Kickin it 4 Kelley."

Four of the five stories that will be judged in an online contest next week by all the KNPA Members for the Members Choice Award were WKYT Winners: "Mr Sparkle," "Kickin it 4 Kelly," "Soldier Surprise," and "A Sign of Acceptance."

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus