Parts Of Ky Declared Disaster Areas After Tornadoes

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - President Bush has issued a major disaster declaration for parts of Kentucky hit by severe storms earlier this month.
The White House says today that the declaration covers nine counties. Some of the areas were struck by deadly tornadoes that
killed seven people. Weather officials said at least a dozen tornadoes touched down during the hard-charging storms.
The deaths were in Allen and Muhlenberg counties.
The President's declaration allows residents in those counties to apply for federal funding, including grants for temporary housing and home repairs.
The counties are: Allen, Christian, Fayette, Hardin, Hart, Meade, Mercer, Monroe, and Muhlenberg.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 15861927 -
Gray Television, Inc.