President Makes Disaster Declaration For Nine Kentucky Counties

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - President Bush has issued a major
disaster declaration for parts of Kentucky hit by severe storms
earlier this month.

The White House says today that the declaration covers nine
counties. Some of the areas were struck by deadly tornadoes that
killed seven people. Weather officials said at least a dozen
tornadoes touched down during the hard-charging storms.

The deaths were in Allen and Muhlenberg counties.

The President's declaration allows residents in those counties
to apply for federal funding, including grants for temporary
housing and home repairs.

The counties are: Allen, Christian, Fayette, Hardin, Hart,
Meade, Mercer, Monroe, and Muhlenberg.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 15871547 -
Gray Television, Inc.