President Bush Declares KY Counties Disaster Areas

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - President Bush has declared a major disaster in more than a dozen counties in Kentucky after storm damage.
A statement from the White House press secretary's office on Tuesday says the President has offered federal aid to supplement commonwealth and local recovery efforts in Anderson, Crittenden, Fleming, Fulton, Hancock, Hopkins, Lewis, Livingston, McLean, Nicholas, Ohio, Spencer, and Woodford counties.
Severe storms that produced tornadoes, flooding, mudslides and
landslides in early April have strained government resources.
The funds are available to commonwealth and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations to pay for emergency work and
repair to facilities damaged by April 3-4 storms.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by steve on May 20, 2008 at 03:34 PM
    Bush is a great president and all i can say i do not care what the communist libs say.


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19099009 -
Gray Television, Inc.