President Bush Declares Kentucky Counties Disaster Areas

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - President Bush has declared a major
disaster in more than a dozen counties in Kentucky after storm

A statement from the White House press secretary's office on
Tuesday says the President has offered federal aid to supplement
commonwealth and local recovery efforts in Anderson, Crittenden,
Fleming, Fulton, Hancock, Hopkins, Lewis, Livingston, McLean,
Nicholas, Ohio, Spencer, and Woodford counties.

Severe storms that produced tornadoes, flooding, mudslides and
landslides in early April have strained government resources.

The funds are available to commonwealth and local governments
and certain nonprofit organizations to pay for emergency work and
repair to facilities damaged by April 3-4 storms.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19100799 -
Gray Television, Inc.