25 Officers Graduate From Criminal Justice Basic Training

Law enforcement officers from 18 agencies across the state graduated Friday from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The 25 officers of Class 393 completed 18 weeks of training, which consisted of more than 750 hours, recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families, and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state's Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs' deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University's campus. The agency is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies and was the first in the nation to be accredited under CALEA's public safety training program designation. In 2006, the academy also became the first law enforcement training academy in the nation to be named as a CALEA flagship agency.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and telecommunications training.

Class 393 graduates and their agencies are:

Scott A. Ball, Boyd County Sheriff's Office
Dale E. Barbiea, Bowling Green Police Department
Samuel S. Bierds, Calloway County Sheriff's Office
Anthony J. Brown, Princeton Police Department
Vernon M. Brown, Jefferson County Sheriff's Office
Derrick J. Combs, Hazard Police Department
Eric L. Davidson, Berea Police Department
Denny R. Deweese, Morgantown Police Department
Toni R. Elliot, Georgetown Police Department
Daren P. Estep, Paintsville Police Department
Michael F. Evans, Princeton Police Department
James T. Fox, Princeton Police Department
Brandon M. Gwynn, Bullitt County Sheriff's Office
William B. Hogue, Bowling Green Police Department
Mary L. Leavell, Madisonville Police Department
Anthony D. Maggard, Jenkins Police Department
Ora C. Moore, Hazard Police Department
Milton R. Perry, Oak Grove Police Department
James T. Shaw, Carroll County Sheriff's Office
Daniel L. Shipp, Jefferson County Sheriff's Office
Jared B. Spurrier, Daviess County Sheriff's Office
Jackie K. Stewart, Lynch Police Department
Raina L. Vicars, Kenton County Police Department
Glen D. Wagoner, Berea Police Department
Jerry L. Wiley, Paintsville Police Department

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by daniel Location: louisa on Jun 20, 2008 at 03:25 PM
    wow,so much more going on in the world and you want to complain about that.... so let me get this correct, you have never went faster than the speed limit, yeah right.... congrats to all police officers on your training...
  • by hmmm Location: richmond on Jun 20, 2008 at 01:26 PM
    just great, more "officers" to drive down the interstate doing 90mph when they are not even chasing anyone or going to a call. I have notice that the police are mostly the ones speeding down the road instead of us regular citizens. Funny how they can break the law and we can't ??


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 20600954 - wkyt.com/a?a=20600954
Gray Television, Inc.