Lawmakers appointed in sexual harassment case

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - House Speaker Greg Stumbo has appointed five lawmakers to a special committee that will investigate sexual harassment complaints against one of their colleagues.

The appointees, named Friday, include three Democrats and two Republicans. Two are women. They will look into complaints against Democratic state Rep. John Arnold of Sturgis who is accused of sexually harassing three legislative workers.

Stumbo filed a petition with the House clerk on Thursday calling for the formation of the investigative committee that could recommend Arnold's censure or expulsion. Arnold didn't immediately return a phone call to his legislative office Friday.

The five appointees are Democrats Arnold Simpson of Covington, Rita Smart of Richmond and Jeff Donohue of Louisville. The Republicans are Julie Adams of Louisville and Robert Benvenuti of Lexington.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 221875501 -
Gray Television, Inc.