Burning Bans Continue In Many Eastern Kentucky Counties

Officials from the forestry service are reminding everyone that several eastern Kentucky counties are still under a burning ban.

Six counties in the mountains remain in the ban: Pike, Floyd, Johnson, Lawrence, Magoffin and Martin. Foresters stay the warm, dry weather is keeping conditions ripe for increased fire activity.

If you have any questions about burning in your area, contact your local forest service office.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by concerned citizen Location: floyd county on Sep 20, 2008 at 06:49 PM
    although there has been a burning ban out for several months, most floyd countians either don't know about it or simply just don't care! isn't there someone that can do something about it? everywhere i go i pass a yard or a field near someones home where they are burning stuff. whether it be garbage or brush. would someone, somewhere do something about it before it ends up being too late for an innocent person!


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 28698539 - wkyt.com/a?a=28698539
Gray Television, Inc.