10 Counties Added To Appalachian Commission

RICHMOND, Va. (AP) - Ten counties have been added to the Appalachian Regional Commission, which fights poverty in the region that stretches through 13 states.

The expansion is part of legislation reauthorizing federal appropriations for the commission for the next five years. The White House announced Thursday that President Bush has signed the legislation, which provides funds ranging from $87 million this year to $110 million in 2012.

The new counties are Ashtabula, Mahoning and Trumbull in Ohio; Metcalfe, Nicholas and Robertson in Kentucky; Lawrence and Lewis in Tennessee; and Henry and Patrick in Virginia. They bring the number of ARC counties to 430 in a region from southern New York to northern Mississippi.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Bill Location: Pikeville on Oct 10, 2008 at 04:21 AM
    Just more money wasted,this is part of the reason. we are suffering in our markets.Socialist give aways for no reason.Its time too shut down this waste. Its robbery of the American peoples money.


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 30737449 - wkyt.com/a?a=30737449
Gray Television, Inc.