GOP lawmakers endorse McConnell for re-election

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - U.S. Sen. Mitch McConnell has picked up endorsements from nearly all state-level Republican lawmakers in Kentucky.

The McConnell campaign announced the endorsements on Monday from 64 of Kentucky's 68 Republicans serving in the Legislature.

McConnell campaign manager Jesse Benton said the lawmakers will help establish a campaign operation covering all 120 Kentucky counties. Their endorsements, Benton said, shows that the Kentucky GOP is unified heading into next year's Senate election.

Among the lawmakers making endorsements was Senate President Robert Stivers who said McConnell's leadership is needed to "fight against big government and get our fiscal house in order." House Republican Leader Jeff Hoover also endorsed, calling McConnell "a tireless advocate for our conservative values."

McConnell doesn't yet have a major challenger to his re-election. The filing deadline is next January.

Below is a list of all the state legislators who today endorsed Leader McConnell:

Senator Joe Bowen
Senator Tom Buford
Senator Jared Carpenter
Senator Julie Denton
Senator Alice Forgy Kerr
Senator Carroll Gibson
Senator Chris Girdler
Senator David Givens
Senator Sara Beth Gregory
Senator Ernie Harris
Senator Jimmy Higdon
Senator Paul Hornback
Senator Stan Humphries
Senator Bob Leeper
Senator Chris McDaniel
Senator John Schickel
Senator Dan Malano Seum
Senator Brandon Smith
Senator Katie Stine
Senator Robert Stivers
Senator Damon Thayer
Senator Whitney Westerfield
Senator Mike Wilson
Representative Julie Raque-Adams
Representative Lynn Bechler
Representative Robert Benvenuti
Representative Kevin Bratcher
Representative Regina Bunch
Representative Dwight Butler
Representative John Carney
Representative Ron Crimm
Representative Jim DeCesare
Representative Bob DeWeese
Representative Myron Dossett
Representative C.B. Embry
Representative Joe Fischer
Representative David Floyd
Representative Mike Harmon
Representative Richard Heath
Representative Gary Herald
Representative Jeff Hoover
Representative Kenny Imes
Representative Tom Kerr
Representative Kim King
Representative Adam Koenig
Representative Stan Lee
Representative Brian Linder
Representative Donna Mayfield
Representative David Meade
Representative Michael Meredith
Representative Brad Montell
Representative Tim Moore
Representative David Osborne
Representative Ryan Quarles
Representative Marie Rader
Representative Bart Rowland
Representative Steven Rudy
Representative Sal Santoro
Representative Jonathan Shell
Representative Diane St. Onge
Representative Ken Upchurch
Representative Ben Waide
Representative Russell Webber
Representative Addia Wuchner
Representative Jill York

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 200875241 -
Gray Television, Inc.