Gabbard among inductees into Ky. Journalism Hall of Fame

LEXINGTON, Ky. - Five new members have been inducted into the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame. The ceremoney took place Tuesday afternoon during a luncheon sponsored by the University of Kentucky School of Journalism and Telecommunications Association at The Thoroughbred Center in Lexington.

Tuesday evening, the school will hold its 36th annual Joe Creason Lecture in Journalism at 6 p.m. in Worsham Theatre of the Student Center on the UK campus. This year's presenter of the lecture is Al Tompkins, senior faculty, broadcast and online, at the Poynter Institute. Tompkins, a WKU graduate, is a 2008 Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame inductee.

The 2013 Hall of Fame inductees are:

· Ralph W. Gabbard, general manager at WKYT-TV Lexington and founder of WYMT-TV Hazard (posthumous induction).
· Bill Goodman, managing editor of KET's "Kentucky Tonight" and host of other public-affairs programs on KET.
· Dan Modlin, retired news director at WKU Public Radio in Bowling Green.
· John Nelson, executive editor, Schurz Communications in Danville and Winchester.
· Marla Ridenour, sports columnist, Akron (Ohio) Beacon Journal.

The five new honorees will join 184 other journalists inducted into the Hall of Fame since its 1981 inception. Selection of honorees is made by a committee representing the state's media, the UK Journalism Alumni Association and the University of Kentucky. Nominees must be either Kentucky natives or outstanding journalists who have spent the bulk of their careers in the state.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 204317031 -
Gray Television, Inc.