Gov. Beshear declares State of Emergency in 12 counties

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 26, 2013) – Governor Steve Beshear has declared a state of emergency for a dozen counties after severe storms swept through Kentucky beginning April 15, causing widespread damage. The affected counties are Bell, Clay, Crittenden, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Owsley, Rockcastle and Whitley.

“The declaration is a part of the process to identify what assistance is needed in these counties because of the storms,” Gov. Beshear said. “We will work with local and federal officials to measure damage and make sure each community has access to appropriate resources.”

Gov. Beshear has requested Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM) to conduct joint preliminary damage assessments (PDA) in the listed counties to determine if Kentucky may qualify to request federal assistance.

Residents of these counties should contact their local emergency management officials to report any damage to their property. A list of county emergency management officials can be found at the Kentucky Emergency Management website:

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 204859491 -
Gray Television, Inc.