WKYT | Lexington, Kentucky | News

US names 6 soldiers killed in Afghan attack

FORT CAMPBELL, Ky. (AP) - The military has named six American
soldiers killed in a suicide attack in Afghanistan that was the
deadliest attack on coalition troops there this month.
The Department of Defense said Tuesday all six men were members
of the 101st Airborne Division based at Fort Campbell on the
Kentucky-Tennessee line.
The soldiers died Sunday when an explosives-packed minibus blew
up at the entrance of a joint NATO-Afghan base in Kandahar
They were named as Cpl. Sean M. Collins, 25, of Ewa Beach,
Hawaii; Cpl. Willie A. McLawhorn Jr., 23, of Conway, N.C.; Spc.
Patrick D. Deans, 22, of Orlando, Fla.; Spc. Kenneth E. Necochea
Jr., 21, of San Diego, Calif.; Spc. Derek T. Simonetta, 21, of
Redwood City, Calif.; and Spc. Jorge E. Villacis, 24, of Sunrise,

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111851289 - wkyt.com/a?a=111851289
Gray Television, Inc.