6 counties chosen for post-election audit

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Six counties have been chosen for audits of last month's primary election.

The counties were chosen randomly on Wednesday. The state attorney general is required by law to conduct the post-election investigation in no fewer than 5 percent of Kentucky's counties following each primary and general election.

Attorney General Jack Conway's office says selection of the counties doesn't imply that irregularities are suspected. There were no irregularities discovered during the last audit, in November 2012.

The counties chosen are Allen, Breathitt, Clark, Meade, Russell and Warren.

Conway's office said in addition to the audit, investigations are continuing into complaints made to the Election Fraud Hotline. The hotline received 205 calls from more than 60 counties on primary election day, May 20. There were 49 allegations of vote-buying.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 262826271 - wkyt.com/a?a=262826271
Gray Television, Inc.