Coal counties get state refunds

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Nearly three dozen Kentucky counties will receive refunds totaling $381,400 from coal mining permit and acreage fees.

The 35 counties will get refunds ranging from $25 to more than $67,000, with 10 counties receiving more than $15,000.

The state's Department for Natural Resources collects mining permit and acreage fees and returns a portion to coal-producing counties' fiscal courts for beneficial projects.

Pike County will receive the largest refund of more than $67,000, followed by Ohio County with more than $34,000, Perry County with about $33,000 and Leslie County with about $28,000.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 218487011 -
Gray Television, Inc.