Woodson, Woodyard in mix for post-season awards

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Quarterback André Woodson and linebacker Wesley Woodyard have been named semifinalists for the Maxwell Award and Chuck Bednarik Award, respectively, by the Maxwell Football Club of Pennsylvania.

Woodson (Radcliff, Ky.) is one of 15 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award signifying the National Player of the Year. Woodson has completed 63 percent of his passes this season for 2,431 yards and 28 touchdowns. He leads the Southeastern Conference in passing yardage and TD passes. He has earned National Player of the Week honors three times this season. Woodson set an NCAA record with 325 consecutive passes without an interception. He also has been named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award for the nation’s top quarterback and on the Manning Award watch list for the same honor.

Woodyard is one of 15 semifinalists for the Bednarik Award for the National Defensive Player of the Year. Woodyard leads the Southeastern Conference with 93 tackles and also has eight tackles for loss, two quarterback sacks, five pass breakups, and has caused a fumble. He was named SEC Defensive Player of the Week for the Arkansas game when he tied a career high with 18 tackles and caused a fumble that was returned for a touchdown.

In addition, Woodyard (LaGrange, Ga.) is a semifinalist for the Dick Butkus Award (nation’s best linebacker), a quarterfinalist for the Ronnie Lott Trophy (nation’s best defensive player/character), and on the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Award (nation’s best defensive player).

Brooks on Bryant Award Watch List: Coach Rich Brooks has been named to the watch list for the Paul “Bear” Bryant Award signifying the national coach of the year.

Brooks is one of 16 coaches on the watch list, which also includes Mike Bellotti (Oregon). Lloyd Carr (Michigan), Randy Edsall (Connecticut), Dennis Erickson (Arizona State), Jeff Jagodzinski (Boston College), June Jones (Hawaii), Mark Mangino (Kansas), Les Miles (LSU), Chris Petersen (Boise State), Gary Pinkel (Missouri), Mark Richt (Georgia), Rich Rodriguez (West Virginia), Nick Saban (Alabama), Bob Stoops (Oklahoma), and Jim Tressell (Ohio State). The award is given by the American Heart Association of Houston, Texas.

Brooks won the Bryant Award in 1994 when he guided the Oregon Ducks to the Rose Bowl. This season, he has guided Kentucky to a 6-3 record, including two wins over teams ranked in the top 10 at the time, then-No. 9 Louisville and then-No. 1 LSU. The Wildcats reached the top 10

rankings for the first time in 30 years and have been listed in the Bowl Championship Series rankings for the first time in school history.

In addition to the Bryant Award, Brooks also is on the watch list for the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award.

Kentucky at Vanderbilt Available via Pay-Per-View on ESPN GamePlan: The Kentucky at Vanderbilt game has been added to list of games available for pay-per-view on ESPN GamePlan.

For information, contact your local cable or satellite TV provider, or go to this internet site:


The Wildcats take on the Commodores on Saturday at 2 p.m. EST (1 p.m. CST in Nashville).