Padres' Ace Peavy Wins NL Cy Young Award

AP Baseball Writer
NEW YORK (AP) - Jake Peavy was a unanimous winner of the NL Cy
Young Award on Thursday after leading the league in wins, ERA and
strikeouts - pitching's version of a Triple Crown.
The San Diego Padres ace received all 32 first-place votes and
finished with 160 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers'
Association of America. Arizona sinkerballer Brandon Webb, last
year's winner, was a distant runner-up with 94 points. He was
listed second on 31 ballots and third on one.
Peavy went 19-6 while topping the majors in ERA (2.54) and
strikeouts (240) for the Padres, who came within one win of their
third consecutive playoff berth. He joined Roger Clemens as the
only starting pitchers to win a Cy Young Award without tossing a
complete game.
Clemens did it once in each league: 2001 with the New York
Yankees (AL) and 2004 with Houston (NL).
It was the 12th time an NL pitcher has been a unanimous choice
for the honor, the first since Arizona's Randy Johnson in 2002.
Peavy became the fourth San Diego pitcher to win the award, joining
reliever Mark Davis (1989), Hall of Famer Gaylord Perry (1978) and
lefty Randy Jones (1976).
Peavy had a chance to put the Padres in the postseason - and
earn his 20th win - when he started the wild-card tiebreaker
against Colorado. But the 26-year-old right-hander was ineffective
at Coors Field, giving up six runs and 10 hits in 6 1-3 innings.
The Rockies rallied for three runs against career saves leader
Trevor Hoffman in the 13th and won 9-8, then charged all the way to
the World Series.
Brad Penny of the Los Angeles Dodgers finished third in the
voting. Cincinnati's Aaron Harang was fourth and Chicago's Carlos
Zambrano came in fifth.
Peavy, the National League's starter in the All-Star game, was
the front-runner nearly all season. He consistently stifled
opponents, allowing only 13 home runs in 34 starts. He gave up 169
hits and 68 walks in 223 1-3 innings.
Webb was 18-10 with a 3.01 ERA and 194 strikeouts, pitching an
NL-best 236 1-3 innings. His streak of 42 scoreless innings helped
the surprising Diamondbacks finish with the best record in the
league (90-72).
Atlanta's Tom Glavine in 1992 was the only other NL pitcher to
finish second one year after winning the award.
A two-time All-Star, Peavy also won an ERA title in 2004 and a
strikeout crown in 2005. His nasty stuff has made him one of
baseball's toughest assignments for years, but this season was his
most impressive.
Peavy earned a $100,000 bonus for winning the award, and the
price of San Diego's 2009 club option increased by $3 million to
$11 million.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)