Street Sense, Hard Spun among Eclipse finalists

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (AP) - Kentucky Derby winner Street Sense,
Breeders' Cup Classic winner Curlin and Derby runner-up Hard Spun
were among the Eclipse Award finalists announced Friday.
The three rivals were nominated for 3-year-old male of the year
honors. Curlin's other victories last year were in the Arkansas
Derby and the Jockey Club Gold Cup.
Curlin defeated Street Sense and Hard Spun in the $5 million
Classic, most likely leading to Horse of the Year honors. Finalists
for Horse of the Year will be announced when the awards are
presented Jan. 21 in Beverly Hills.
Rags to Riches, who defeated the boys in the Belmont Stakes,
along with Octave and Panty Raid were nominated for 3-year-old
Steve Asmussen, who trained Curlin; Kiaran McLaughlin; and
three-time Eclipse winner Todd Pletcher were trainer of the year
Dubai World Cup winner and 2006 Horse of the Year Invasor;
Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile champion Corinthian; and Woodward and
Whitney winner Lawyer Ron were nominated for older male.
Breeders' Cup Distaff champion Ginger Punch, Hystericalady and
Nashoba's Key were the older female nominees.
Garrett Gomez, who led the nation's riders in earnings last
year, along with Robby Albarado and John Velazquez were nominated
for jockey of the year.
The awards are voted on by turf writers and racing secretaries
at National Thoroughbred Racing Association tracks.
The other finalists:
2-year-old male: Kodiak Kowboy, Pyro, War Pass
2-year-old filly: Country Star, Indian Blessing, Proud Spell
Male sprinter: Fabulous Strike, Idiot Proof, Midnight Lute
Female sprinter: Dream Rush, Maryfield, River's Prayer
Male turf: After Market, English Channel, Kip Deville
Female turf: Lahudood, Nashoba's Key, Precious Kitten
Apprentice jockey: Tyler Pizarro, Alonso Quinonez, Joe Talamo
Steeplechase: Good Night Shirt, McDynamo, Planets Aligned
Owner: Maggi Moss, Shadwell Stable, Stronach Stables
Breeder: Adena Springs, William S. Farish, Martin and Pam Wygod

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)