Transy's Tierney, Verax named All-Conference

GREENWOOD, IN –Defiance College’s Anthony Pettaway (Toledo, Ohio/Bowsher) has been named the 2007- 2008 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Most Valuable Player and headlines the 12-member all-HCAC team.

The junior center helped lead the Jackets to their first HCAC Men’s Basketball crown since the 2000-2001 season and a 19-8 record overall. Pettaway ranked third in the conference in scoring (16.2 ppg), second in rebounding (8.7 rpg), fourth in field goal percentage (61.5%), and third in blocks (18).

Overall for the season, Pettaway ranked second on the Jackets in scoring (15.7 ppg) and led the team in rebounding (8.0 rpg). Defiance
compiled a 13-3 conference mark and 19-8 record overall.

Hanover’s Mitchell Meyer (New Albany, Ind./H.S.) has also received special recognition by the conference. The freshman forward has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Freshman of the Year. Meyer led the league in three-point field goal percentage, connecting on 53.1% of his attempts from behind the arc. Meyer
finished with an overall 55.7% clip from the field to rank among the conference leaders. He also contributed 9.3 points and 3.7 rebounds per game for the Panthers this season.

Defiance College head coach Jon Miller has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year for the first time. Miller, in his fifth year at Defiance, led the Jackets to their second HCAC men’s basketball title and their first ever outright championship as a member of the conference.

Defiance compiled a 19-8 overall record this season and fell in the finals of the HCAC tournament to Franklin. Miller has compiled a 67-63 record
while at Defiance.

Pettaway is one of 12 players named to the All-HCAC team. There are five seniors, four juniors, and three sophomores on the team this season. The 22-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team has also been named. A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:

HCAC Awards:
Player of the Year: Anthony Pettaway, Defiance, Jr., C
Freshman of the Year: Mitchell Meyer, Hanover, F
Coach of the Year: Jon Miller, Defiance

Ryan Fultz, Anderson, So., F
Mike Russell, Anderson, Jr., G
C.J. Johnson, Defiance, Sr., G
Anthony Pettaway, Defiance, Jr., C
Marty Young, Franklin, Sr., C
Dustin Marshall, Franklin, Jr., G
Robby Brown, Hanover, Sr., C
Jamaal Wade, Manchester, Sr., G
Michael Romes, Mt. St. Joseph, So., G
Ron George, Rose-Hulman, Sr., G
Tim Tierney, Transylvania, So., G
Joey Verax, Transylvania, Jr., F

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus