Former Wildcat Jamal Mashburn, coach Tubby Smith highlight Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame class

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (March 5, 2008) – Former University of Kentucky
basketball coach Tubby Smith and player Jamal Mashburn are among the
athletes, coaches and sports journalists included in the 2008 induction
class of the Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame.

The KAHF today announced the 2008 Hall of Famers and plans for the
induction ceremony which will take place Wednesday, April 30, at the
Galt House Hotel in Louisville.

Other inductees will include thoroughbred owner and breeder Will Farish, University of Kentucky football and NFL player Joe Federspeil, Kentucky State University football player Joe Kendall, Western Kentucky
University football and NFL player Dale Lindsey, WKU women’s basketball player Jamie Walz-Richey, and Courier-Journal sports writer Bob White.

“The Hall looks for accomplished sports figures whose achievements have brought positive recognition to Kentucky,” said Jim Ellis, president of KAHF. “This year’s class represents outstanding athletic accomplishments both in the Commonwealth and for the Commonwealth.”

KAHF’s Selection and Induction Committee, which includes sports writers, announcers and commentators, determined the inductees from among nominations submitted by the public.

Inductees will be honored at the Derby week induction ceremony, and
their accomplishments will be highlighted in a bronze plaque to be hung
alongside those of previous KAHF inductees inside Freedom Hall at the
Kentucky Exposition Center.

Prior inductees include Muhammad Ali, Denny Crum, Pat Day, Paul Hornung, Dan Issel, Mary T. Meagher, Tori Murden-McClure, Pee Wee Reese, Adolph Rupp, Phil Simms, Johnny Unitas, Secretariat and others.

Induction ceremony to benefit Kosair Charities The public is invited to the Hall of Fame induction ceremonies on April 30 at the Galt House in Louisville. Tickets to the 6 p.m. induction dinner and ceremony cost $75 per banquet seat or $600 for a table. The night will start with a 6 p.m. with cocktails and a silent auction with the ceremony starting at 7:30 p.m. Approximately 500 people attended last year’s ceremony.

All proceeds benefit Kosair Charities, which is the largest private
financial supporter of Kosair Children’s Hospital, and has contributed
nearly $110 million to support the medical care of thousands of children
from across Kentucky and Southern Indiana.

“Many of our Kosair kids find pleasure and derive a sense of shared
accomplishment through the lives of sports figures,” said Randy Coe,
executive director of Kosair Charities. “When people who have excelled
in athletics are admitted to the Hall of Fame, children of all ages
share the excitement.”

Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance is sponsor of the Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame. During the induction ceremony, additional awards will be
presented to the Kentucky Farm Bureau High School Athlete of the Year
for the top boy and girl prep athlete of 2007. The High School Athletes
of the Year will be announced at a later date.

More details on each of the 2008 KAHF inductees are attached. For
information about tickets to the Hall of Fame induction events, call
KAHF at (502) 637-7696, or visit

About the Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame
Any adult athlete, coach or sports-related figure with a deep-seated
Kentucky connection and a record of high achievement in competitive
sports is eligible for Hall of Fame consideration.

KAHF bylaws state that “A nominee must either be a native-born
Kentuckian or have achieved, or contributed to, athletic success that
casts favor on the Commonwealth of Kentucky.” The Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame is sponsored by Kentucky Farm Bureau.

The public can submit nominations for Hall of Fame consideration by
calling the KAHF at (502) 637-7696, or by visiting


See following page for more information about each of the 2008 Kentucky
Athletic Hall of Fame inductees.

Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame
Class of 2008

William S. Farish- Owner of Lane’s End Farm. United States Ambassador to
Great Britain; Eclipse Award winner; owned or bred multiple graded
stakes winners; has raced more than 140 stakes winners and bred more
than 250 stakes winners, including the 2003 Horse of the Year Mineshaft,
the 1992 Horse of the Year A.P. Indy, 1999 Horse of the Year Charismatic
and Champion Lemon Drop Kid; first breeder since A. J. Alexander in 1880
to breed or co-breed two horses (Charismatic and Lemon Drop Kid) who
combined to win the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness, and the Belmont in
the same year; 1992 and 1999 Eclipse Award winner as the year's leading

Joe Federspiel- All SEC and second team All-American linebacker at UK,
where he played from 1969-1971. DeSales graduate (All-State) who lives
in Lexington. Played 10 or more years in the NFL and is in the New
Orleans Saints Hall of Fame. Also was a referee in the SEC. Federspiel
had the bad luck to be the best player on some very bad teams which went
7-25 during his tenure. He was named to UK’s All-Century team in a 1990
vote by state newspapers.

Joe Kendall- From Owensboro, was inducted into the College Football Hall
of Fame this summer. He was an All-American offensive back at Kentucky
State in the 1930’s – could play all three positions (QB, HB, FB) and
was the star of K-State’s undefeated mythical black national
championship team. Coached high school football in Harlan and Owensboro,
and ran summer recreational programs in Owensboro inspiring the city to
name a park for him.

Dale Lindsey- Western Kentucky University; All-American, two-time
All-OVC selection and 1993 inductee into the school’s Hall of Fame;
played nine seasons for the NFL’s Cleveland Browns; went on to coach for
six NFL teams, including the San Diego Chargers, whom he helped lead to
the 1995 Super Bowl.

Jamal Mashburn- UK basketball All-SEC; All-American-led team to 1993
Final Four; 6th all-time leading scorer in UK history; helped restore UK
basketball following probation; NBA career-(1st round draft pick); 11
seasons in NBA; career scoring average of 19; one of only six
players since 1970 to have averaged at least 20 points per game in his
final NBA season.

Tubby Smith- Head basketball coach at UK from 1997-2007, coached
Wildcats to 1998 NCAA championship. His teams won five SEC regular
season championships and five SEC tournament titles. His 2002-03 team
won 26 straight games and was undefeated in SEC play, both regular
season and tournament. Smith that year swept all 10 major Coach of the
Year awards.

Jamie Walz-Richey- Highlands HS, WKU-state’s all-time leading scorer for
boys and girls (4,948 points); Miss Basketball, national Gatorade high
school Player of Year, 1996; ranked number one HS recruit in USA as
senior; eight different organizations named her Kentucky Player of Year
including the Associated Press and Courier-Journal; AP Kentucky Female
Athlete of Year in 1996; Sports Illustrated Athlete of Month in February
in 1996; Four years at Western, All-Sun Belt in 2000, played in three
NCAA tournaments.

Bob White-Honorary Inductee - Known as “Mr. Kentucky High School
Sports”, he has worked full-time for The Louisville Courier-Journal for
41 years, including the final 38 as the lead high school sports
reporter. A graduate of the University of Kentucky, White spent four
months at the Cynthiana (Ky.) Democrat and a couple of years at the
Cleveland (Tenn.) Banner before making his way to The C-J. He is a
member of the KHSAA Dawahares Hall of Fame and the Kentucky Journalism

Hall of Fame, along with the Metro Area Athletic Directors Association
Hall of Fame and the Kentucky Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame. In 1991,
White was honored with the Distinguished Service Award by National High School Coaches Association.