Pearl wins Rupp Award

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Tennessee coach Bruce Pearl was awarded
the Adolph Rupp Cup, recognizing the coach of the year.
The award is given along with the Adolph Rupp Award for player
of the year by the Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky.
North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough was awarded player of the
Commonwealth Athletic Club spokesman Gerry Calvert, a former
player of the legendary Kentucky coach, says Pearl is the type
Coach Rupp would have loved to compete against because of his
Pearl led his Volunteers this season to a program-best 31 wins,
their first outright regular season Southeastern Conference title
in 41 years and their first No. 1 ranking in history.
A committee of over 40 present and retired sportswriters,
coaches, broadcasters and sports administrators voted.