UK's Blackwelder selected for golf NCAAs

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Junior women’s golfer Mallory Blackwelder has been selected to play in the NCAA Championships as an individual as announced by the NCAA Monday.

Blackwelder will appear in the West Region field and will play May 8-10, at the Lincoln Hills Golf Club in Lincoln, California, hosted by Sacramento State University.

Three regional tournaments will be conducted May 8-10 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition.

A total of 324 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.
Blackwelder is one of three individuals selected for the West regional, and one of nine individuals taken among the three collective regions. Blackwelder joins Danielle Cvitanov of San Francisco and Emily Powers of Kansas as the individual field in the West.
The junior from Versailles, Ky., and an outstanding season as a first-year player for the Wildcats. She notched three top-10 finishes, including a tie for second at the Qdoba Invitational. Additionally, her scoring average of 75.27 for the season is the best in school history, eclipsing Kate Rogers’ 75.71 mark set in 1987-88. Blackwelder also made her LPGA debut this season, appearing in the Kraft Nabisco Championship in early April.

Complete coverage of Blackwelder in the NCAA Championships can be found at

NCAA Tournament Field

1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
2. Florida ( Southeastern Conference)
3. Georgia
4. Auburn
5. Wake Forest
6. Tennessee
7. Virginia
8. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
9. Vanderbilt
10. Louisville
11. South Carolina
12. Furman (Southern Conference)
13. East Carolina
14. Georgia State
15. UCF
16. Missouri
17. Indiana
18. North Carolina-Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)
19. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
20. Charleston Southern (Big South Conference)
21. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Dori Carter, Mississippi
2. Emma Degroot, Chattanooga
3. Paula Hurtado, Florida International

2. Purdue (Big Ten Conference)
3. Alabama
4. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
5. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
6. Pepperdine
7. LSU
8. Texas A&M
9. Notre Dame (Big East Conference)
10. Texas
11. TCU
12. Florida State
13. North Carolina State
14. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
15. Texas Tech
16. Washington
17. Nebraska
18. Harvard (Ivy Group)
19. Texas State (Southland Conference)
20. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
21. Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)

1. Steffi Kirchmayr, College of Charleston
2. Sara Wikstrom, Arkansas-Little Rock
3. Araceli Felgueroso, Coastal Carolina

1. Southern California (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Arizona State
3. Arkansas
4. Arizona
5. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
6. California
7. Michigan State
8. Stanford
9. BYU
10. Tulsa (Conference USA)
11. North Carolina
12. Ohio State
13. San Jose State
14. Oklahoma
15. Oregon
16. UNLV
17. UC Davis
18. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
19. Fresno State (Western Athletic Conference)
20. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)
21. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)

1. Mallory Blackwelder, Kentucky
2. Danielle Cvitanov, San Francisco
3. Emily Powers, Kansas