Cowgill, Carroll named semifinalists for national Player of the Year award

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kentucky sluggers Sawyer Carroll and Collin Cowgill have been named semifinalists for the Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in college baseball, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced on Thursday.

Carroll and Cowgill make the semifinal listing of 16 players, joining No. 3 Arizona State as the only team to place multiple players on the list. The two players rank among the Southeastern Conference and NCAA leaders in nearly every offensive category, with Carroll leading the SEC in batting average (.416) and RBI (75). Carroll has blasted 15 home runs, 19 doubles, two triples, and stolen 11-of-11 bases, reaching base at a .504 clip, while slugging .752. Carroll’s 75 RBI rank second all-time in UK season history, two shy of the school record, set in 2006 by SEC Player of the Year Ryan Strieby.

Cowgill, a five-tool outfielder, leads the club with 18 home runs, driving in 55 RBI, while hitting for a .378 average. Cowgill leads the SEC with 70 runs scored, stealing 20-of-24 bases and adding seven outfield assists.

The two are members of the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Watch List and the Brooks Wallace Award Watch List, both awards given to the top player in college baseball.

Only third-ranked Arizona State and UK placed two players on the watch list, with ASU putting first baseman Brett Wallace and utility man Ike Davis on the list. Georgia shortstop Gordon Beckham and South Carolina first baseman Justin Smoak round out the SEC selections, as UK placed two of the three outfielders selected.