Alabama overwhelming favorite by media to win SEC

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WKYT) – Alabama is the overwhelming favorite to repeat as Southeastern Conference champion.

In the preseason poll released Thursday, the Crimson Tide received 182 first-place votes out of a possible 243. Georgia was picked to win the Eastern Division and was the second leading vote-getter with 38, while South Carolina received 18.

Alabama received 1,681 points to lead the Western Division, followed by Texas A&M (1,333), LSU (1,324), Mississippi (883), Auburn (579), Mississippi State (516) and Arkansas (488). Following Georgia (1,570) in the East are South Carolina (1,474), Florida (1,300), Vanderbilt (858), Tennessee (694), Missouri (577) and Kentucky (331).

The leading vote-getters on the All-SEC preseason team are Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley, followed by South Carolina defensive lineman Jadeveon Clowney. The poll is voted on by media covering the SEC.

(* - Ties)
QB           Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (119)
RB           T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (221)
RB           Todd Gurley, Georgia (206)
WR          Amari Cooper, Alabama (194)
WR          Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt (106)              
TE            Arthur Lynch, Georgia (148)         
OL           Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama (193)
OL           Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (176)
OL           Anthony Steen, Alabama (109)
OL           Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State (88)
C              Travis Swanson, Arkansas (92)
QB           AJ McCarron, Alabama (67)
RB           Tre Mason, Auburn (15)
RB           *LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State (12)
RB        *Keith Marshall, Georgia (12)
WR          Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss ( 46)
WR          Mike Evans,  Texas A&M (33)
TE            Rory Anderson, South Carolina (33)
OL           Antonio Richardson, Tennessee (76)
OL           Jon Halapio, Florida (51)
OL           Chris Burnette, Georgia (50)
OL           Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee (50)
C              Reese Dismukes, Auburn (33)        
QB           Aaron Murray, Georgia (52)          
RB           *Matt Jones, Florida (5)
RB           *Jeff Scott, Ole Miss (5)
RB        *Alfred Blue, LSU (5)
WR          Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (28)
WR          Jarvis Landry, LSU (19)
TE            Brian Vogler, Alabama (18)
OL           La'el Collins, LSU (37)     
OL           Josh Williford, LSU (30)
OL           Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt (18)
OL           *A.J. Cann, South Carollina (14)
OL        *Zach Fulton, Tennessee (14)
C              *James Stone, Tennessee (30)
C          *Jonotthan Harrison, Florida (30)
DL            Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (223) 
DL            Dominique Easley, Florida (162)
DL            Anthony Johnson, LSU (127)
DL            Chris Smith, Arkansas (56)
LB            C.J. Mosley, Alabama (231)
LB            A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (107)
LB            Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (94) 
DB           Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (203)
DB           Craig Loston, LSU (135)
DB           Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (117)
DB           Deion Belue, Alabama (77)
DL            Xzavier Dickson, Alabama (49)    
DL            Ed Stinson, Alabama ( 39)
DL            Dee Ford, Auburn (38)
DL            Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama (31)
LB            Adrian Hubbard, Alabama (66)
LB            Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (64)
LB            Lamin Barrow, LSU (29)
DB           Damian Swann, Georgia (70)
DB           Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (69)
DB           Marcus Roberson, Florida (50)
DB           Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama (36)
DL            Garrison Smith, Georgia (26)       
DL            Daniel McCullers, Tennessee (23)
DL            Alvin Dupree, Kentucky (23)
DL            C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss (22)
LB            Ronald Powell, Florida (24)
LB            Tahj Jones, LSU (20)
LB            *Trey DePriest, Alabama (16)
LB         *Avery Williamson, Kentucky (16)
DB           E.J. Gaines, Missouri (34)
DB           Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss (25)
DB           Jalen Mills, LSU (22)
DB           Chris Davis , Auburn (20)
P              Kyle Christy, Florida (108)
PK           Carey Spear, Vanderbilt (100)     
RS           Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (74)         
AP           Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (69)          
P              Cody Mandell, Alabama (54)
PK           Cody Parkey, Auburn (71)             
RS            Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (62)
AP           Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (44)
P              Steven Clark, Auburn (33)
PK           Zach Hocker, Arkansas (39)         
RS            Andre Debose, Florida (53)
AP           Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (36)

Alabama 182
Georgia 38
South Carolina 18
Texas A&M 4

Georgia (149) 1570
South Carolina (75) 1474
Florida (19) 1300
Vanderbilt 858
Tennessee 694
Missouri 577
Kentucky 331

Alabama (225) 1681
Texas A&M (11) 1333
LSU (7) 1324
Ole Miss  883
Auburn 579
Mississippi State 516
Arkansas 488
* - Official attendance at 2013 SEC Media Days is 1,239, a new high for the event. The previous high was 1,085 in 2012.
* - 243 voters Is an all-time high for SEC media days.  The previous high was 222 voters in 2012.
* - The top two vote-getters were defensive players: C.J. Mosley, Alabama and Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina.
* - Since 2000, Arkansas’ Darren McFadden is the only unanimous selection to the SEC Media Days Team, collecting all 80 votes.
* - Alabama had the most first-team selections this season with 7.  Since 1992, the most players on a first-team were 9 by Alabama in 2011 and 8 by Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus