UK to induct five new Hall of Fame members

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Kentucky Athletics’ five-person 2008 Hall of Fame class, announced last spring, is to be formally inducted in Lexington the weekend of Sept. 26-27. The group, which includes football player Al Bruno, men’s basketball player Tony Delk, track athlete Tim Harden, former men’s basketball player and athletics director C.M. Newton and men’s golfer Johnny Owens will take part in the Hall of Fame Induction Dinner Friday, Sept. 26, before being recognized the following day at halftime of the UK-Western Kentucky football game. The committee granted previously announced diver Tina Johnson Ybarra’s request to be moved to the 2009 class for induction.

The Hall of Fame Dinner, to be held at the Embassy Suites, starts at 6:45 p.m., with a reception at 6 p.m. Tickets are $100 for a seat, or $1,000 for a table of 10. Those interested in purchasing tickets should contact Leslie Bray at (859) 257-2589.

The UK Athletics Hall of Fame was started in 2005 to recognize and honor persons whose participation and contributions enriched and strengthened the University’s athletics program. There is a five-year waiting period - after leaving UK - to be eligible for inclusion into the Hall of Fame, and a 10-year waiting period to have a jersey retired. An individual must be a member of the Hall of Fame to be eligible for jersey retirement.

A committee consisting of Hall of Famers, media members, campus representatives and current coaches and administrators elects new inductees each spring