Duece Finch Wins Mr. Football, Boyle's French Coach Of The Year

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - St. Xavier running back Rolandan
"Deuce" Finch has been selected as this year's Mr. Football.
The senior ran for 1,397 yards and 30 touchdowns this season for
the Tigers, who fell to Trinity in the Class 6A semifinals last
Finch was slowed most of the season by a knee injury, but went
through a sizzling stretch at the end of the season when he ran for
more than 1,100 yards and 22 touchdowns in the Tigers' final eight
Finch is the first St. Xavier player to win the Mr. Football
award. Glaser said Finch is still mulling scholarship offers,
though Kentucky and Illinois are both in the running.
Other players receiving votes for Mr. Football were South Laurel
quarterback Ricky Bowling, Trinity linebacker Jordan Whiting,
Franklin-Simpson quarterback Courtney Dalcourt and North Bullitt
running back Dalton Cissell.

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - Boyle County's Larry French and Monroe
County's John Petett have been selected as the Kentucky high school
football Coaches of the Year.
Both coaches helped their teams to great turnaround seasons in
2008, leading their respective schools to the state semifinals.
French led Boyle County to a 13-1 record this fall, helping the
school recapture some of the glory days of its run of five straight
titles earlier this decade.
Petett led Monroe County to a 12-2 mark a year after the Falcons
slumped to a 2-9 record.
Other coaches receiving votes were Philip Haywood of Belfry,
Raceland's Randy Vanderhoof, Jim Black of Whitley County, Corbin's
Steve Jewell and Ravon Patterson of Shawnee.

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - The 2008 Kentucky High School All-State
first and second teams, as selected by 19 media representatives
from across the state:
QB - Courtney Dalcourt, Franklin
RB - Deuce Finch, Lou. St. Xavier
RB - Channing Fugate, Breathitt Co.
Rec. - Austin Collinsworth, Highlands
Rec. - Chris Gohman, Elizabethtown
Rec. - Victor Moulden, Hopkinsville
OL - Marcus Arnold, North Hardin
OL - Adam Dempsey, Highlands
OL - Jacob Langston, Christian Co.
OL - Dominic Mainello, Beechwood
OL - Larry Warford, Madison Central
K - Monte Merrick, Bell Co.
DL - Mister Cobble, Lou. Central
DL - Trevor Foy, Louisville St. Xavier
DL - Kody Rosenhagen, Highlands
DL - Elijah Young, Bowling Green
LB - Josh Carter, Fort Campbell
LB - Jordan Whiting, Lou. Trinity
LB - Ridge Wilson, Lou. Central
DB - Jay Beard, Bowling Green
DB - Dalton Cissell, North Bullitt
DB - Justin Green, Lou. Male
DB - D.J. Hall, Lou. St. Xavier
DB - Shenard Holton, Warren East
P - Rex Coleman, Graves Co.
QB - Ricky Bowling, South Laurel
RB - VaShun Banks, Christian Co.
RB - Tevin Barksdale, Bowling Green
RB - Charles Quainoo, Boone Co.
Rec. - Aaron Brock, Williamsburg
Rec. - Jacob Cobb, South Laurel
Rec. - Leonard Macon, Taylor Co.
OL - Kevin Connaughton, Cov. Catholic
OL - Seth Harvey, Lou. St. Xavier
OL - Van Ingram, John Hardin
OL - Jacob King, Bell Co.
OL - Samuel Simpson, Lex. Henry Clay
K - Max Oldham, Bowling Green
DL - Grant Aumiller, Boyle Co.
DL - Robby Logan, Raceland
DL - Roy Philon, Lex. Bryan Station
DL - Brady Slusher, Beechwood
DL - Anthony Topps, Fort Campbell
LB - Phil McCauley, Lou. Trinity
LB - Tim Patterson, Lou. Central
LB - Matt Simpson, Bell Co.
DB - Jordan Aumiller, Boyle Co.
DB - Raquan Durrante, Fort Campbell
DB - Orlando Mouncil, John Hardin
DB - Yantae Williams, Owensboro
P - Josh Gray, Fleming Co.
QB: Antonio Andrews, Fort Campbell; Casey Brockman, Calloway
Co.; Jamarielle Brown, Lone Oak; Tony Guidugli, Highlands; Zach
Lewis, Clay Co.; DeMarcus Smith, Lou. Seneca; Michael Thomas,
RB: Nathan Dillon, Johnson Central; Devin Foster, Union Co.;
Ivan Lee, Belfry; Reese MacShara, Boyle Co.; Tim Phillips, Lou.
Trinity; Yorel Shemwell, Owensboro; Miles Simpson, Simon Kenton;
Nieco Teipel, Beechwood; Jeremy Thompson, Mason Co.; Caleb Watkins,
Corbin; Adrian Wardup, North Laurel.
Rec: Chris Allen, Fort Campbell; Terrence Breckenridge, Mason
Co.; Elias Camper, John Hardin; Jon Davis, Lou. Eastern; Courtland
Dillard, Apollo; Chris Dobbins, Calloway Co.; Eric Faughn, Caldwell
Co.; Chad Hazelwood, Lou. Holy Cross; Bryan McGraw, Owensboro
Catholic; Chris Mitchell, South Laurel; Aaron Nance, Lou. Seneca;
Muhammad Saifullah, Lex. Bryan Station; David Wallace, Christian
OL: Harris Bivin, Apollo; David Carter, Lou. Fairdale; Caleb
Croney, Christian Co.; Darryl Dobson, Christian Co.; Robert Morris,
Henderson Co.; Max Moser, Fort Campbell; Bobby Partin, Middlesboro;
Jeff Prescott, Lone Oak; Daniel Wiechart, Boyle Co.
K: Jim Adkins, Hopkinsville; Nick Armstrong, North Laurel; Jason
Dolly, Russell.
DL: William Battle, Central Hardin; Jake Bolander, Lewis Co.;
Cameron Cain, Caldwell Co.; Jon Evans, Middlesboro; Evan Hester,
Danville; Thomas Jacobs, Elizabethtown; Billy Lawson, Bell Co.;
Ashton Little, North Hardin; John Little, Johnson Central; Dean
Wathen, Henderson Co.
LB: Josh Alber, Ashland; Cody Bramlett, Whitley Co.; Mike
Federspiel, Lex. Henry Clay; Cody Jones, Whitley Co.; Craig
Matthews, Russellville; Caleb Mitchell, John Hardin; Austin Patton,
Ohio County; Ben Slone, Boyle Co.; Pat Van Sant, Cov. Catholic; Sam
Wilson, Greenwood; Josh Wynn, Whitley Co.
DB: Michael Campbell, Hazard; Cameron Chaney, Central Hardin;
Joe Daniels, Beechwood; Trevor Deneen, Elizabethtown; Bret Denton,
Racelend; Winston Hines, Pulaski Co.; Earl McCann, Lex. Bryan
Station; Leonard Melvin, Lou. Western; Greg Phillips, Knox Central;
Rocky Tinnin, Christian Co.; Ian Welch, Johnson Central; Aaron
Wilson, Fulton City.
Mr. Football: Deuce Finch, Lou. St. Xavier
Co-Coaches of the Year: Larry French, Boyle Co.; John Petett,
Monroe Co.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus