Transy's Verax named Player of the Year, Lane named Coach of the Year

GREENWOOD, IN – Transylvania University’s Joey Verax (Falmouth, Ky./Pendleton Co.) has been named the 2008-2009 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Most Valuable Player and headlines the 12-member All- HCAC team. The senior forward helped lead the Pioneers to their third HCAC Men’s Basketball crown and tournament title, holding a 21-5 record overall heading into NCAA tournament play.

Verax ranked third in the conference in scoring (18.2 ppg), sixth in rebounding (5.6 rpg), eighth in field goal percentage (56.8%), and sixth in three-point field goal percentage (45.6%) during conference play this season. Overall for the season, Verax led the Pioneers in scoring (16.2 ppg) and rebounding (5.5 rpg). Transy compiled a 13-3 conference mark and shared the conference championship with Franklin College.

Franklin’sWill Conoley (Franklin, Ind./H.S.) has also received special recognition by the conference. The freshman center has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Freshman of the Year. Conoley was ranked among the league leaders, averaging 14.6 points per game (10th) and 5.8 rebounds per game (5th), while shooting 61.8% from the field (4th). The freshman center finished the season ranked second in blocks, recording 23 during conference play.

Transylvania University head coach Brian Lane has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year for the third time. Lane led the Pioneers to their third HCAC men’s basketball title and their third HCAC tournament championship. Transy has compiled a 21-5 overall record this season and will face Guilford College (NC) in the first round of the NCAA Tournament at Centre College this Friday evening. Lane has compiled a 136-77 record while at Transylvania.
Verax and Conoley are two of 12 players named to the All-HCAC team. There are seven seniors, three juniors, one sophomore, and one freshman on the team this season. The 21-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team has also been named. A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:

HCAC Awards:
Player of the Year: Joey Verax, Transylvania, Sr., F
Freshman of the Year: Will Conoley, Franklin, C
Coach of the Year: Brian Lane, Transylvania

Mike Russell, Anderson, Sr., G
Colt Cunningham, Bluffton, Sr., G
Anthony Pettaway, Defiance, Sr., C
Nick Sales, Defiance, Jr., F
Mike Floyd, Defiance, Jr., G
Jace Redman, Franklin, Sr., G
Dustin Marshall, Franklin, Sr., G
Will Conoley, Franklin, Fr., C
Mitchell Meyer, Hanover, So., F
Michael Romes, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., F
Joey Verax, Transylvania, Sr., F
Aaron Cash, Transylvania, Sr., G

Honorable Mention All-HCAC:
Rodney Holliday, Anderson, Jr., F
Andrew Jones, Anderson, So., F
Gabe Miller, Anderson, So., G
Aaron Taylor, Bluffton, Sr., F
Nick Wilson, Bluffton, Sr., F
Josh Eichar, Bluffton, Jr., G
Heath Armstrong, Defiance, Jr., G
Jared Catron, Franklin, Sr., F
Jake Inman, Hanover, Jr., G
Jeff Grabowski, Manchester, Sr., F
Tyler Henn, Manchester, So., F
Nathan Ferch, Manchester, So., G
Jason Spindler, Manchester, Fr., C
Travis Huffman, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., G
Kyle McCord, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., F
Jeff McCartney, Rose-Hulman, Jr., G
Blake Knotts, Rose-Hulman, Fr., G
Lorenzo Rice, Rose-Hulman, Sr., F
Dan Lowers, Rose-Hulman, So., G
Brock Jones, Transylvania, Sr., F
Tim Tierney, Transylvania, Jr., G