CATSPY Awards set for April 29

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The seventh-annual CATSPY Awards, celebrating the 2008-09 athletics year at the University of Kentucky, will be held on Wednesday, April 29 in Memorial Coliseum.

The awards ceremony begins at 8:00 p.m., with doors opening at 7:30 p.m., and the public is invited. Tickets cost $5 each and may be purchased in advance at the UK Athletics Ticket Office (Joe Craft Center) or by calling 800-928-2287. All persons must have a ticket to enter, regardless of age.

Public parking will be available in the E lots located on the east side (Rose Street) or west side (Lexington Avenue) of the Joe Craft Center. Additional parking will be available in parking structure #5 located near Kennedy’s Book Store.

This year’s ceremony will feature Christi Thomas of WKYT and Jay Crawford of ESPN. A spin-off of the popular ESPY Awards held each year by ESPN, the CATSPYS feature 25 individual and team honors, chosen from UK’s 22 varsity sports. This event is dedicated to celebrating excellence on the court, in the classroom and in the community with UK’s 504 student-athletes.

Videos of the nominees in each category are shown. UK student-athletes and head coaches serve as presenters.

The list of awards includes:

Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Academic Team of the Year
Fifth Third Community Service Award
Blue Heart Award
Character Award
Bill Keightley “Assist” Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
Male and Female Scratch Award
Supporting Role Award
Mike Lyden “One Shining Moment” Award
Men’s Team Coach of the Year
Women’s Team Coach of the Year
Mr. and Miss Wildcat
Male and Female Play of the Year
Male and Female Rookie of the Year
Male and Female Performance of the Year
K-Association Male and Female Athlete of the Year
Male and Female Team of the Year
Lists of award winners and photo galleries from previous CATSPYS may be seen on under the ‘Tradition’ tab.